SkinSpirit rolls out PDRN salmon-DNA microneedling across its US medspas

SkinSpirit launched a 3% PDRN salmon DNA microneedling treatment across 60-plus US medspas. Topical PDRN is sold as a cosmetic, not an FDA-approved drug.

Published July 1, 2026·injector.world Editorial Team
Quick answer

SkinSpirit launched a PDRN salmon DNA microneedling treatment on July 1, 2026, applying a 3% salmon DNA serum during microneedling across its 60-plus US medspas. The K-beauty-inspired protocol targets collagen production and skin barrier support. Topical PDRN is sold as a cosmetic, not an FDA-approved drug.

At a glance
  • Launched July 1, 2026 across SkinSpirit's 60-plus US medspa locations
  • Uses a 3% salmon DNA (PDRN) serum applied during microneedling
  • Framed as a K-beauty-inspired regenerative, collagen-supporting protocol
  • Topical PDRN is regulated as a cosmetic, not an FDA-approved drug
  • Injectable PDRN/PN products are not FDA-approved for aesthetic use in the US
  • Pricing was not disclosed; evidence for topical PDRN efficacy is limited

SkinSpirit, a US medical aesthetics chain, has added a PDRN salmon DNA serum to its microneedling menu, positioning the launch as a K-beauty-inspired regenerative option. The company says the serum carries a 3% salmon DNA concentration, among the highest it markets, applied topically during microneedling to support collagen production and the skin's barrier.

The rollout reflects a wider consumer interest in PDRN, a nucleotide ingredient popularized in Korean skincare. Here is what the launch actually includes, and how the regulatory picture looks for anyone weighing the treatment.

What happened

On July 1, 2026, SkinSpirit announced its PDRN Salmon DNA Microneedling Catalyst Serum Treatment, adding it to the company's Catalyst Serum lineup used alongside microneedling. PDRN stands for polydeoxyribonucleotide, a fragment of salmon-derived DNA that the company says supports skin repair. The serum is applied topically while microneedling creates controlled micro-channels in the skin.

SkinSpirit lists a 3% salmon DNA formulation and describes it as among the highest concentrations available. The company cites benefits including collagen stimulation, improved skin quality, and a strengthened barrier, and points to elasticity loss, inflammation, and uneven texture as target concerns. Dr. Dean Vistnes, co-founder and medical director, said patients are increasingly seeking treatments that work at a deeper biological level, not just surface appearance. The treatment is offered at SkinSpirit's 60-plus locations across California, New York, Arizona, Texas, Utah, Washington, and Oregon. Pricing was not disclosed in the announcement.

Why it matters

Regulatory status is the key context this launch does not spell out. Topical PDRN serums like the one used here are sold in the US as cosmetics, not as FDA-approved drugs. Cosmetics do not require FDA premarket approval for safety or efficacy, so a topical PDRN product can reach market without the clinical review a drug undergoes. That is a legal pathway, not a proof of clinical benefit.

The distinction matters because PDRN also exists in injectable forms marketed abroad as skin boosters. Injectable PN and PDRN products are not FDA-approved for aesthetic use in the United States, and are not on the FDA's cleared dermal filler list. SkinSpirit's offering is the topical, microneedling-paired version, which is the cosmetic route. Evidence for meaningful skin changes from topical PDRN remains limited, and much of the supporting research involves in-office procedures rather than over-the-counter serums.

What to watch

Consumers considering the treatment can ask providers direct questions: how the 3% figure was measured, what results are realistic, how many sessions are suggested, and total cost, since pricing was not published. Because the active ingredient is salmon-derived, anyone with a fish or seafood allergy should raise that with a clinician before booking. Microneedling itself carries routine risks including redness, irritation, and, rarely, infection when aftercare is poor. As PDRN adoption spreads across US medspas, watch for stronger independent evidence on topical efficacy and for any FDA statements clarifying claims. Report and verify: no reader should start or stop a treatment based on marketing language alone.

Frequently asked questions

Is SkinSpirit's PDRN salmon DNA treatment FDA-approved?
No. The topical PDRN serum is sold as a cosmetic, which does not require FDA premarket approval. It is not an FDA-approved drug. Separately, injectable PDRN products are not FDA-approved for aesthetic use in the US.
What is PDRN salmon DNA?
PDRN, or polydeoxyribonucleotide, is a fragment of salmon-derived DNA used in skincare. Popularized in K-beauty, it is applied topically here during microneedling and is claimed to support collagen production and the skin barrier.
Who should be cautious about this treatment?
Because the ingredient is salmon-derived, people with fish or seafood allergies should consult a clinician first. Microneedling also carries routine risks like redness, irritation, and rare infection. Discuss suitability with a licensed provider before booking.
How much does the treatment cost?
SkinSpirit did not disclose pricing in its announcement. Cost is likely to vary by location and by the number of microneedling sessions recommended. Ask the provider for a full price before scheduling.